2009-2010 Youth Leadership & Wellness Team

The Cochran/Bleckley Community Collaborative, CIS/Family Connection has partnered with the Bleckley County Extension Service and Bleckley County School System for the past 10 years to develop, expand and sustain a Youth Leadership Team.

Students in grades 9-12 from Bleckley County High School complete an application and go through a selection process to become a member of the team each year.  Students are selected based on academics, community involvement and leadership potential.

There are 6 mandatory workshop sessions to include:

  1. Orientation to Leadership
  2. Team Building and Leadership Styles
  3. Civic Responsibility
  4. Local Governance
  5. Community Partnerships & Growth
  6. Graduation

Team members are also required to complete 15 hours of service learning to give back to the community.

Last year the collaborative received the Safe Schools/Healthy Students Grant and added a “Wellness” component to our requirements for graduation.  The name of the team was changed to Youth Leadership & Wellness Team to reflect this new component.

The SSHS Wellness Coordinator meets with the team throughout the year to implement prevention curriculums so they will be student driven and supported.

These include:

  1. Olweus Bullying Prevention
  2. Mendez Too Good for Drugs and Violence
  3. Ripple Effects
  4. Second Step Violence Prevention

The Youth Leadership & Wellness Team members serve as role models to encourage student participation and peer mediation to ensure that prevention is “student driven”.  Currently for the 2009-2010 school year we have 12 active Youth Leadership & Wellness Team members.  We have a graduation ceremony scheduled for March 29, 2010 and Chris Sandy, a former prison inmate just released after serving over 8 years for vehicular homicide by DUI and is now a motivational speaker with a prevention message for teens and parents, will deliver our keynote address.

  • Rickenya Jenkins
  • Rebecca Bunn
  • Chase McCulley
  • Morgan Hobbs
  • Mallory Dyal
  • Jessi Young
  • Anna Claire Evans
  • Emily Tyus
  • Tyler Phelps
  • Jenna Harvey
  • Josh Valls
  • Sanna Gough